A walk in the woods – Bill Bryson

SA Blog Awards Badge

woods

I put this book down more than three days ago, but in my mind I’m still wandering through the deep woods of America’s back country. I’ve never read a Bill Bryson book before, but I must say that A walk in the Woods was the ideal introduction to his work. His humour in this short travelogue is on form, as he details his attempt to hike the Appalachian Trail. It had me literally laughing out loud, sometimes in very public places.

Maybe what made me pick it up was the fact that I have always thought someday I would hike this trail myself. However, after vicariously experiencing it through Bryson’s account, I think I’ll give it a skip. Bryson goes into great detail about both the beauty, history and challenges of this trail (bearing in mind that it is over 3000 km and goes through  14 states, including Georgia, Virginia, Tennessee and New York).

It was a great read, light, funny and reflective on man’s relationship with nature. One of the most poignant themes that runs through this book, and one that Bryson continuously brings his reader back to is how humans have destroyed our planet. In that sense, the book is a tragi-comedy, but highly worth the read.

I paired this wine with the Sumaridge pinot noir, perfect for summer or winter (both seasons which Bryson experiences in the woods) and with flavours that I feel connate dark American forests: Black cherry, cedar wood smoke and wild herb.

 

3 thoughts on “A walk in the woods – Bill Bryson

Leave a Reply

