Divergent- Veronica Roth

download (2)

 

I’m tempted in my anguish to tell you not to read the Divergent trilogy. But then my book-loving self who would never deny another human being the addictive pleasure that comes from reading books like these, pushes me to write this post.

So for the past month my nose has been pasted to the pages of Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant, the three part series released by Veronica Roth (now a major motion picture featuring Ashley Judd and Kate Winslet).

What can be said about Divergent? Its teen fiction, so the writing is simplistic and the relationship between characters is sometimes dissatisfyingly shallow, but the storyline, set in post-apocalyptic USA, is imaginative and enthralling.

We meet the protagonist, Beatrice Prior, on the day she has to take the test which will determine which faction (or societal group) she will choose to join for the rest of her life. While this system was set-up to restore order after the war that destroyed the USA (as we know it) something else is afoot, and that’s when we are invited in to the story.

It was heart-racing and gripping to read, but I must warn you that when I finally finished the last page of Allegiant (the final book) I cried for two days straight. No really, two days. So if you are brave enough for the emotional rollercoaster that is Divergent, and sci-fi is your thing, then I highly recommend this read.

I paired this series with a number of wines, but the one that stood out most to me, and surprisingly so, because I seldom drink or enjoy Shiraz, was the Ross Gowan 2007. Spicey with a soft finish, this is a great accompaniment to the trilogy.

Leave a Reply

