Even if you know me well, you don’t know this

My Gran used to let me type away on her old typewriter

My Gran used to let me type away on her old typewriter

 

This is generally a book-and-music review blog, but I can’t resist a good movement, which I think the #Writersbootcamp which begins today, is.

So, what is it that you don’t know about me, bearing in mind that I avoid bumping into myself in this blog as much as possible. So far you know that I read extensively and enjoy off-the-beaten-track music.

I think the number one thing that most people don’t know about me is that (like most writers I suppose) I’m working on a book.

I haven’t ever told anyone that (except my fiancé and he’s very forgetful so I’d bank on the fact that even he doesn’t know) but I like to live by the phrase “everyone has a story to tell” and it’s a kind of scary thing to put out on the blogosphere (and then Twitter). Drawing from my background in politics, I hope that my story will explore South African life post-1994, and it’s all based on my own experiences (again the phrase “write what you know”).

What inspired me to write the book is my Grandmothers old type writer which she used to let me play on. I still have the very first collection of stories I ever clunked out on that machine, illustrated by my sister of course, even though my Grandmother is long gone, her inspiration and belief in my abilities has always stayed with me.

So, even if you know me well, you don’t know this. (But now you do)

2 thoughts on “Even if you know me well, you don’t know this

Leave a Reply

