Everybody’s talking about… (allow me to indulge my grief)

For the last two-to-three months, everyone has been raving about new Brit Band Bastille. Yeah, they’re pretty cool, and of course, I’m just catching on now.

My Grandparents passed away this year, in quick succession of each other. We live in a society that marginalises the elderly, so when you tell people that you lost a grandparent, the standard response is “Ag Shame” and people expect you to move on.

I’ve been incredibly blessed to have had all four of my grandparents in my life until the age of 25. My grandpa passed away this week, following his wife of 54 years just four months after her death in February.

Why I like this song, is that there is a line that says “But if you close your eyes, does it almost feel like nothing’s changed at all.”

That is the blessing of having had my grandparents in my life for so long. They shaped and influenced me for 25 years, so when I closed my eyes, I guess nothing has changed after all, because (in a paraphrase of ee cummings) I carry their hearts in my heart.

Thank you for allowing me my little indulgence

<p>Article by Aimee McDonald</p>

<p>Find me on Google +</p>

<p><a href=”https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/107382418925874427514/107382418925874427514/posts?rel=author”>Google</a></p&gt;

2 thoughts on “Everybody’s talking about… (allow me to indulge my grief)

  1. darrelhoff says:

    i still really like that you do this too. its so cool to share our love for music and lyrics with others. who knows our recommendation may inspire others… thanks again 🙂 this song is cool.

Leave a Reply

