The last guest didn’t know the party was over

My moms university copy cost her R5 in the 70's

My moms university copy cost her R5 in the 70’s

Love can make or break you. It can only go one of two ways: wonderfully or horribly. Sometimes it does both, say, over a five year period. Well, that was the case for Jay Gatsby anyway.

With the movie being released in cinema’s last week I knew I had to read the book first(I intend to watch it tonight. The soundtrqack is superb btw). My mom’s copy (above) cost her R5 when she brought it in the 70’s.

The story, in essence, is a simple one, but the fluid, enigmatic writing of Fitzgerald meant that I opened the book to read and before I knew it I was on page 60! It was absolutely excellent, I now have a book-hangover. I can see why its a classic. The 1920’s are such a magical time in the collective conscious of the modern world.

I hope you do read it if you haven’t already, no one writes in poetry anymore the way Fitzgerald does.

Pair with a rich and nectar-like Chenin blanc, such as the Ayama Chenin (pictured above). The winemaker describes this wine as “everything is spirit, passion and contradiction…at the same time warm and complex.” Perfectly complementary to The Great Gatsby.

Leave a comment